Skip to get tickets


Fri, Mar 27 - Sun, Mar 29, 2020
  • Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Heinz Hall
  • Ticket Prices
    starting at $20

No Strings Attached

Kodály: Dances of Galánta
Bartók: Viola Concerto
Stravinsky: Petrushka (1911 version)

Three of the last century’s most colorful composers: Kodaly, Bartok and Stravinsky. The popular “Petrushka” is an early masterpiece. Along with his ballets “The Firebird” and “The Rite of Spring,” “Petrushka” helped Stravinsky define the sound of the last century. This tale of a puppet’s unrequited love would be danced by no less than Nijinsky. Now more than a century on, it is Stravinsky’s score more than its story that still inspires, sounding as fresh and brilliant today as it did in 1911.


Sponsored by